Top o’ the morning to ya! I love St. Patrick’s Day so much that this is already my second day of the year spent celebrating. My first was March 6th up in Hoboken, NJ, and it was intense. I have work today, which means this I will be going straight to an Irish pub when the clock strikes 6:00PM, and then back to my house, where I have some leftover Guinness cupcakes, Irish Soda Bread, and a 6-pack of Killian’s Red waiting for me.¬† Now THAT is the luck of the Irish.

For this post, I decided to compile a fairly random collection of some of my favorite Irish things.

To begin, my favorite Irish Movie, “In America
Care of Wikipedia
Anyone who has not seen this movie should do themselves a favor and rent it as soon as you can. It is the story of an Irish family who immigrates (illegally, via Canada) to New York City. Their story is, in a lot of ways, fundamentally American. It’s all about a family’s quest to find a better life for themselves that they feel only Manhattan can deliver. But it is also a wonderful Irish story, with fantastic characters who struggle to fit into their new home while maintaining their customs and keeping their family structure as it was in Ireland. Plus, the little girls and their accents are absolutely adorable.

Favorite Irish Drinking Song: “Wild Rover
Simply put, this song makes me want to drink. I first became acquainted with it while on a pub crawl with my dad and big sister (I have a cool family). We had a two-piece Irish band, complete with a fiddle, that followed us from bar to bar (I think it was a way of announcing that the ‘drunks had arrived’ to the locals). They were wise enough to save “Wild Rover” until bar number three, when we all felt comfortable throwing our arms around each other and singing in unison. If you’ve ever been at an Irish bar when this song came on, I am sure you know what I’m talking about. If not, listen to the Dropkick Murphies cover below, throw back a Smittwick’s or two, and pretend to know what I’m talking about.

Most Underrated Irish Drink: Magner’s Irish Cider

We all know about Jameson Irish Whiskey and Guinness Stout, unless we’ve been living in a cave (or convent). But while living abroad, I was introduced to Magner’s Irish Cider (called Bulmer’s in Ireland) and fell in love. It’s a sweet drink, and you might be tempted to call it girly, but you would be mistaken. Until you have sat in a pub in Cork, Ireland and watched 200 pound men get sloshed off of it, I recommend reserving judgment.

Care of Wikipedia

My first experience with Magner’s came when I ordered it from an Irish bartender in Belgium. When it arrived, I noticed there was no foam at the top of my glass. “Sir,” I called to him, “my beer is flat.” He stared at me, then broke his silence with “no, it isn’t.” I looked at the beer, looked at him, and smirked. He grabbed the beer from me, and while maintaining eye contact, took a gulp. He then loudly told me (and, in effect, the entire bar), “that’s damn good Irish cider, love!” I was schooled that day.

Favorite Irish Friend: Finn!
Pintje followers who read my Oscar blog post are familiar with my snarky and fabulous friend, Finn. The girl is as Irish as the day is long, so I’m happy to go on the record saying she is my favorite Irish friend. She visited me in college for St. Patrick’s Day and brought with her a shirt with my name ironed on the back and “Lush O’ The Irish” on the front. Now that is a good friend. Finally, in case you needed more convincing, please note that she began Hoboken St. Patty’s Day like this:

Photo care of Finn

That’s it! I hope everyone has a fantastic, fun, and safe St. Patrick’s Day. Please feel free to leave your celebration plans or personal picks of all things Irish in the comments below. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite Irish proverbs:

May your glass be ever full.
May the roof over your head be always strong.
And may you be in heaven half an hour before the devil knows you’re dead.

