One the failings of this blog that I am most likely to cop to is its irregular nature. Partially, I post irregularly because I only write a post when I think I have a really good post, to avoid the “forced” feeling that some blogs have. And partially, I’m really lazy. You’re talking to someone who ate pizza for breakfast, lunch, and dinner yesterday because it was in front of her, afterall.

As a partial remedy, I will be introducing “Music Mondays.” Each Monday, I’ll post a music-oriented post featuring three songs; basically the same format that “zOMG” was written in. Hopefully I can stick to this self-imposed obligation! I will take suggestions for topics (“are there three country songs you don’t hate, Pintje?”) as well as offers to guest-write these via email (pintjeblog [at] gmail [dot] com). Without further ado, let’s get to my first one!

Finn and I love exposed brick. I think it all dated back to our good friend Adam offering to throw a New Years Eve party back in high school, with the parental imposed condition that we limit ourselves to their home’s enormous, albeit unfinished, basement. “Exposed brick,” yelled Adam, “people pay good money for that!” Indeed they do. There have been several times that Finn and I have enjoyed ourselves at house parties and she has pointed, like a wise sage, to a wall in the home built of brick, as if to say “you know why.” If we show up at a bar and aren’t sure we want to stay, we find the exposed brick, order some drinks beneath it, and wait for the night to get awesome. And it always does.

I have a similar theory regarding horns. If Finn wants me to listen to a song, she just g-chats it to me with the message ‘HORRNNNSSS!!!1″. I don’t know what it is, but I’m a sucker. A good horn solo can take a mundane song to the next level, as far as I’m concerned.  Check out these three songs and see for yourself!

1.) “Shape of My Heart” by Noah and the Whale

Who doesn’t love mariachi bands?

2.) “Hard to Live in the City” by Albert Hammond Jr.

The horns in this song don’t show up until the last 2 minutes, which is, in my opinion, the highlight of the song. But don’t fast forward until the end; that’s cheating. You’ve got to earn the horns in this one!

3.) “God Put A Smile Upon Your Face” by Mark Ronson featuring the Daptone Horns

This song came out right around the time I was getting sick of the original, which is by Coldplay and considerably more famous. It’s from the album “Version”, which is a collection of cover versions produced by Mark Ronson and one of my favorite records of the last few years. I’m sure there will eventually be a Music Monday that doesn’t featuer a song off of Version, but that day isn’t today. Also, it isn’t any day in the future. My favorite part of this song is the trumpet solo. Heaven.

There you have it! As always, I look forward to any and all comments. If you have a favorite song featuring horns, please share it!

