Hope everyone who has been trapped by the blizzard is enjoying it! I’m stuck in snowy NJ, but I plan on making a break for it in an hour or so to go see “The Black Swan” with a couple of friends. Today’s post features a bunch of cover songs. As someone who used to preform musically (I played the guitar and sang) but was incapable of writing her own music, I have a great appreciation for the art of a good cover song. If you’re going to re-record something that’s already been done before, you’d better offer up something new while doing it. As always, I look forward to some new discoveries in the comment section!

1.) Rave On by M. Ward (original by Buddy Holly)

For one reason or another, I just can’t seem to get into the band “She & Him.” It’s especially weird since I really love M. Ward, and I enjoy Zooey Deschanel’s voice. Luckily, he has plenty of solo projects for me to appreciate, many of which (like this song) feature Zooey’s voice. I love how he slows this song down and makes it sound a little more full of longing than the original encapsulated.

2.) I’m On Fire by Sara Bareilles (originally by Bruce Springsteen)

Being the Jersey girl that I am, it is not easy to impress me with a Bruce cover song. She seems to fight against the temptation to over-sing this song, and lets the repetitive piano chords and powerful lyrics speak for themselves.

3.) A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall by Jason Mraz (originally by Bob Dylan)

Covering Bob Dylan is no easy task. Jason Mraz’s easy-to-listen-to voice really lets the listener focus on these vivid lyrics. Finding this version really helped me re-discover this Dylan classic.

 

 

