To me, beatboxing can be categorized alongside jeggings and bacon flavored vodka; just because you can, doesn’t mean you should. I think of it as a party trick since it so rarely adds anything to a song that a drum set (or even a drum machine) couldn’t handle. There are those rare times, however, when an artist really uses it appropriately. Here are three of those times!

1.) Helen by Nizlopi

This song makes me wish I was named Helen. It’s that good.

2.) Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You by Lauryn Hill

I guess if you’re going to cover a standard like this, you’d better introduce something new. A great song from a really, really great album.

3.) Cry Me a River by Justin Timberlake

Is it officially uncool post a JT song? Or has it been recent enough since he was in NSYNC and recent enough that he was in The Social Network that it’s cool again? I don’t know. It just felt like it would be wrong to omit this song, since it includes mainstream, respectable use of beatbox.

